Media for me

There are so many ways 3D artists can contribute to media and portraying ideas and messages, but where do I fit? For me, I love the concept of creating hyper-realistic models for animated and live-action films, video games, advertisement and also anything to do with creating 3d images for people to admire. My most wanted career in the 3D space is in the cinematic film and trailer arena, mainly because this is the medium that I love to view and analyze the most, for example, take my last

My most wanted career in the 3D space is in the cinematic film and trailer arena, mainly because this is the medium that I love to view and analyze the most. For example, take my last blog post where I talked about my love for hyper-realistic characters and what inspired me to start learning animation. The cinematic industry has the ability to convince the viewers that the characters, locations, environments and most importantly emotions, that are produced and portrayed, are more than just pixels floating on a screen. The possible messages for 3D animation to carry are endless as long as they have good writing and convincing characters behind them.

One of my favorite cinematic pieces that combines high-quality VFX, modeling, animation, and storytelling is Majora’s Mask: Terrible Fate by Ember Lab. This short film gives the story of a young boy who is alone in the woods comes across 2 amazing companions who grow into great friends. this is all well and good until a trader is found mesmerized by an evil mask that the boy then puts on and is consumed by its corrupting power. The emotions portrayed during this short are mainly those of comradery, adventure, and love that slowly fade into greed, fear, and corruption.

Majora’s Mask: Terrible Fate is just an example of what the 3D cinematic field can achieve in the way of storytelling and portrayal of ideas and emotion. It is but a glimpse of the potential of the industry and that is where I find myself drawn to and inspired by. So all up where do I fit in media? The cinematic arena of course.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Nice post. Very interesting read

    Like

Leave a Reply

